RSS

Big Picture Guy on Career Decisions

15 May

One of the blogs I read regularly is Big Picture Small Office. It's the (only mildly tongue-in-cheek) description of the Corporate travails of a senior executive who goes by the moniker Big Picture Guy (or BPG for short).

Sometimes funny, at other tragic! As he says in his introduction, nothing & no one is spared. It's the story of "a big company that manages to think small". Now, if that reminds you of your company, don't say you weren't warned. The blog is littered with stories all of us can identify with at one time or another in our corporate careers. It manages to entertain without being trivial. Dilbert, this is not! There is no snide humor here. This is real life baby!

It's littered with memorable characters ranging from Black Widow (the VP-HR) & General Ledger (VP-Finance) to Ms. Pigeon (the President's secretary, sorry Executive Assistant) & Rigor Mortis (VP-Legal), and covers with brutal honesty, candor & wit a range of corporate misdemeanours from Reorganizations to Promotions, from Awards to Policy-making, Planning committees, et al.

The blog is also fairly well commented upon, with some very informed & informative discussion ranging in its portals. Some of the best business bloggers choose this place for their incisive yet pithy comments on the topic of the day. Some other idiots (most notably yours truly) also infest the place looking for some of the wisdom to rub on us! 😉

Lately, BPG's tone has turned a bit morose. One gets the feeling that his heart is not in his job, that even though he's still fighting against the dying light, he doesn't feel too hopeful for his company's future. Some of the recent posts have been fairly bitter when compared against some earlier ones. The reporting has become more fact-based, than satirical. (Hey, I'm not complaining! If anything, I feel it's probably better this way!)

In one of his recent posts, BPG talked about an offer he'd received from another company. The post closes with:

I make a lot of noise in my own quiet way. However, I find myself, all too often, ranting to the deaf, too frequently railing to the disinterested. I have learned to be satisfied with small victories, amused by small incidents, comforted by small friendships. I must now ask myself: is that enough?

In one of his comments to the above post, he says:

“There is a precipice on either side of you – a precipice of caution and a precipice of over-daring.” I must look ahead – not back and not to the sides – for the answer.

Good luck BPG! And thanks for the advice for all Corporate Warriors. Y'all do go take a look here.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2006 in Biz/Tech, Links

 

6 responses to “Big Picture Guy on Career Decisions

  1. Big Picture Guy

    May 24, 2006 at 4:24 am

    First off, let me thank you for the flattering post on Big Picture, Small Office. I must say that you are unnecessarily – dare I say, ‘unjustly’ – self-deprecating. I consider you a most welcome visitor and your comments are always appropriate and well-considered.

    You noted that my writing has recently moved from sardonic to serious to sad. The mood generally fits the topic and the times. I do try to mix things up and, hopefully, the mood swings accordingly.

    See you soon. Remember, the doors to The Small Office are always open…even if the minds that reside therein are not.

    BPG

     
  2. Just Mohit

    May 24, 2006 at 11:09 am

    Can it be true? Oh my GOD! BPG read my blog and actually commented on it! Wow, My day is made!

    Thanks BPG. Please let me know the ways in which i may improve this place to make it worth more visits from you?

     
  3. evie

    January 19, 2010 at 5:47 am

    I fondly remember bigpicturesmalloffice and am disapointed over and over again each time I remember that it no longer exists.

    BPG was such an amazing writer.

    Any idea if the writer is up to new blogs, or better, books?

     
  4. Just Mohit

    January 19, 2010 at 9:47 am

    No idea Evie. In fact the website is also now behind a wall; asks for a password if you try to access it. 😦

     
  5. Margery

    March 30, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to
    be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon.
    Many thanks

     
  6. Just Mohit

    March 30, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Margery. I checked on my copy of IE, and it seems to work fine. Will need to investigate further I guess! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
