RSS

Why Come Back?

12 Jul

Over the past 18-odd months that I have spent in the UK, I have met a number of people who have questioned my resolve to return to India once my stint here ends (currently date set for July-07). The doubters have been both Indian as well as Brit, and based both in India and abroad.

While I have had a number of reasons which I have given, and quite a few that I have kept to myself, the most important one has always been “that’s my home”.

Ever since I started this blog, I have been trying to write something which explained my resolve in detail. And today I chanced upon this post by “M (tread softly upon)” who writes:

Inspite of the non-stop blaring of horns, incessant traffic that knows no rules, roads full of potholes, throngs of people that spill over into the streets, badly damaged sidewalks crowded by stalls, decaying rubbish piling high, homeless people in makeshift shelters, poverty and pollution, it is still home. These are still things we identify with, talk about and remember with some affection. We talk about Jyoti-babu and how communism has ruined the potential of Bengal for such a long time. We talk about Lalu and his regime in Bihar. We feel pride at all the technology and global advancement that India has made in the last decade. We seek out each other in lands far away from home. To talk. To bond. To feel at home.

Because our roots are still embedded over there.

That is where home is.

Do read the complete post here.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2006 in Life, Links, Thoughts

 

2 responses to “Why Come Back?

  1. m

    July 12, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    Thanks for linking my post! I guess we all have our reasons for wanting to be in India. This post is a result of too much homesickness and nostalgia.
    Thanks again!

     
  2. Just Mohit

    July 13, 2006 at 5:48 am

    I think all expats indulge in a bit of homesickness & nostalgia from time to time. That said, not all of them do return. For isn’t it true that nostalgia tints the glasses, and the mind thus effected recalls a memory it did not really experience?

     

Leave a Reply

 
