RSS

Seeking Connection? Pay Attention

08 Nov

As I was walking to work this morning, I saw a lady talking to herself. As I passed her by, I realised that she was talking into the hands-free of her mobile phone.

I laughed at my own stupidity. And then looked around. There must have been at least 8-9 people around who’d have heard me laugh, but none of them looked up at me.

And then I realised that they probably thought I was talking on my hands-free as well.

As the world comes closer, as the blogs, emails, social networking sites introduce you to perfect strangers; as you open your feelings, thoughts & dreams up to the world; it seems to me that we’re losing the very connection we all search for. While we seek to reach out to perfect strangers, we run the risk of disconnecting ourselves from our friends, acquaintances, family. We spend most of our waking ours in the virtual world, but pay little attention to the real world that seems to pass us by in the streets (if we ever step out in the streets any more!)

When did it become acceptable for people to laugh & talk to themselves while walking alone on the street, while ignoring the people walking, sitting, standing around them? And more importantly, why??

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2006 in Thoughts

 

Leave a Reply

 
