RSS

Comment Spam

11 Dec

I read a great story on Naked Conversations, and wanted to post a comment. The message I get from Typepad:

Your comment has not been posted because we think it may be comment spam. We routinely monitor comment activity and block comments that exhibit patterns of abuse. We apologize if you believe you’ve reached this message in error.

That’s it! No elaboration. No guidance. No highlighting what caused it to be marked as spam. No telling me who to contact or how to get this corrected. What crap!

And before you ask, no, I hadn’t included any html in my comment.

As a blogger, I am sympathetic to those who face large volumes of comment spam. However, this kind of a message only serves to piss off your audience.

I hope the folks at Typepad and/or Shel/Scoble are listening.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2006 in Media

 

2 responses to “Comment Spam

  1. shel israel

    December 12, 2006 at 5:11 am

    I assure you I had absolutely nothing to do with this, Mohit. This is a redundantly lame situation with Typepad. It is happening with greater frequency and is among the reasons I am thinking about moving overto wordpress. I am sorry for your frustration and I wish there were something I could do about it.

     
  2. Just Mohit

    December 12, 2006 at 8:19 am

    Shel: I’m sorry if you got the impression I was blaming you. I do agree with you that the issue lies at the service provider’s door. Their spam-guard (!) sucks. Although I did think maybe there was an akismet like way for you to mark my comment as “not spam”. If there isn’t then it’s all the more frustrating.
    Although I must say that even though the fault lies with Typepad, you are the one who loses the audience, and therefore should be yelling at them. Loud!

     

Leave a Reply

 
