RSS

Stormy Island

19 Jan

And no I ain’t talking of the Shilpa Shetty issue here!

This one is a real storm people. And it hit UK with some force today. I thought the winds were really strong as I trudged home (the roads were closed for traffic in a lot of parts, due to various mishaps). The wind speeds were at 40mph. And then I saw some really horrifying footage on BBC News.

I saw a plane turning sideways as it took off.
I saw trucks overturned on the highway.
I saw a scaffolding come to ground.
I saw a tree which had fallen on a car.
And a wall which had crushed an old lady.

It was a really sad day, made sadder still by these images.

Read BBC’s coverage here. Watch the video here. (You can see the plane turning sideways about two-thirds of the way into the video).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2007 in Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
