RSS

Ghalib’s poetry

15 Apr

One of the pleasures of reading blogs is the beautiful surprises thrown up at you at regular intervals.

AS all of my friends (and in fact most of my passing acquaintances) know, I am a ghazal freak. It’s the magic word that turns perfect strangers into lifelong friends of mine. I do not know or understand much poetry other than ghazals.

And my favourite shayar of all time? Mirza Ghalib. I think his poetry transcends time. There are layers to it that you discover every time you listen to it.

I have spent countless hours on the net trying to get Ghalib’s ghazals. They are available, but usually in Roman/English script. And that’s not much fun, is it?

So you can imagine my delight when Vivek Kumar posted a pdf of 37 ghazals of Mirza Ghalib. Go get it, guys!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2007 in Links, Media

 

4 responses to “Ghalib’s poetry

  1. Aditya

    April 16, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    check out my blog (look for posts under potery)

    http://urgetofly.blogspirit.com

    And As I did on Vivek’s site, so put Frances Pritchett’s site in your favourites. That’s the best and the most authoritative site I’ve ever seen about Ghalib’s work.

    http://www.columbia.edu/itc/mealac/pritchett/00ghalib/index.html?nagari

     
  2. Just Mohit

    April 16, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Hi Aditya,

    I did check out your site. It’s fantastic.

    I also found Frances Pritchett’s site about 6 months ago, but lost the address. Thanks for the link.

     
  3. Zabeeh

    January 15, 2008 at 9:46 am

    “Mohabbat mein nahi hai fark jeene aur marne ka,
    usi ko dekh ke jeete hain jis kafir per dam nikle”

    Zabeeh

     
  4. Just Mohit

    January 15, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Thanks Zabeeh.

    Love your site & the work you’re doing. Keep it up man!

    Cheers

     

Leave a Reply

 
