RSS

links for 2010-01-23

23 Jan
  • some good tips here, esp.
    5. Sometimes people say, “I want to have a few close, real friends, not a bunch of superficial friends.” But that’s a false choice. There are all kinds of friends. I have intimate friends and casual friends. I have work friends whom I never see outside a professional context. I have childhood friends whom I see only once every ten years. I have several friends whose spouses I’ve never met. I have online friends whom I’ve never met face-to-face. These friendships aren’t all of equal importance to me, but they all add warmth and color to my life.
    6. Make the effort to say “This made me think of you.” We’re all busy, and keeping in touch can feel like a lot of work. One strategy that works for me is to write “this made me think of you” emails whenever I see something of interest to a friend.
  • 1. Don’t even try to change your eating until you have learned important skills, such as how to motivate yourself every day, how to get yourself to use good eating habits, how to withstand hunger and craving, and how to get yourself back on track immediately when you make a mistake.
    2. Motivate yourself every day by reading a long list of reasons that you want to lose weight every morning…
    3. Eat everything sitting down, slowly, and enjoy every bite–whether or not you feel like it…
    4. Stay accountable…
    5. Stop looking for the perfect diet or the perfect combination of foods…
    6. Change your mindset about food and eating. Recognize that you can eat whatever you want whenever you want OR you can be thinner. You can’t have it both ways…
    8. Teach yourself the difference between hunger…and craving or the desire to eat…
    9. Regularize your eating with a set plan of meals and snacks…
    10. Tell yourself that every time matters. It’s not necessarily the calories…it’s the HABIT.
    (tags: diet food health)
  • You'll need different kinds of questions for different stages in the discussion. Here's a list of six categories of questions for a Socratic Dialogue, compiled by Richard Paul of the Center for Critical Studies:
    * Questions that help clarify what the other person means.
    * Questions that probe assumptions.
    * Questions that look into the rationale, reasons and evidence the other person's using.
    * Questions examining viewpoints and perspectives.
    * Questions that probe implications and consequences.
    * Questions get to the root of the other person's questions.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2010 in Links

 

Leave a Reply

 
