RSS

links for 2010-02-09

09 Feb
  • I've spent the last eight months transferring all my tapes onto a 2-terabyte hard drive I bought for the purpose…
    And what I discovered has nothing to do with technology, and everything to do with emotion, family and memory.
    I'm telling you, these tapes are INCREDIBLE. My wife and children wander up to my attic office, spot whatever movie is currently importing, and they're just goggle-eyed. We'd completely forgotten what we used to look like, how we used to talk. Our lives are so full, we barely recognize some of the places we've been and the experiences we've had…
    Watching your past life is entertaining, yes, but it also makes you think, take stock, reach new conclusions about yourself and the way you live life, about the dynamic of your family and how it changes as each new child comes along…
    "The unexamined life is not worth living," wrote Thoreau. And what I've learned from my video-transfer project is this: You can't examine your life if you can't remember it.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 9, 2010 in Links

 

Leave a Reply

 
