RSS

links for 2010-11-03

03 Nov
  • Buying a house that will be constructed in the next few years is perhaps the only way a few of us will be able to afford to buy, but the process isn't entirely without roadblocks. Here are seven points you hear in favour, and my take on them…
    1. Prices are ridiculous but they will get more ridiculous.
    2. I know how much I'll pay, and I'll pay in steps
    3. I can get a "teaser" interest rate loan.
    4. I don't want to pay rent to my landlord, if I can pay EMI instead.
    5. It is such a fabulous investment.
    6. I know exactly what I'm going to get.
    7. It makes me feel good.
  • In order for a corporate organism to survive, it needs managers to help it function and grow. And it needs those managers to place company priorities over personal priorities whenever necessary, to marginalize their own values and beliefs in favor of company goals and methods.
    To ensure this happens, companies bribe, bluff and bully their managers. In return, companies get financial, intellectual and physical commitment. But they don't get emotional commitment, which is what they really need to ensure ultimate survival.
    Companies can't get emotional commitment from their managers because the company believes it needs to be the dominant organism in the relationship, which causes managers to have to repress their own values—and so causes them to detach emotionally from their jobs. Inorder to really get that emotional commitment, a company would have to reattach managers to their own deep drivers—allow them to live their own values and act according to their own personal codes.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
