links for 2009-06-22

  • He is barely 23, and I’ve heard people describe him as an evolutionary leap, the kind of new life form that materializes every few generations in tennis and makes everybody ecstatic and argumentative and eloquent. There is debate among serious tennis watchers, for example, as to whether Nadal’s victory over Roger Federer in the Wimbledon final last year was the greatest tennis match ever played or whether it has only been called the greatest tennis match ever played when, in fact, Nadal’s victory over his Spanish countryman Fernando Verdasco in the semifinals of the Australian Open in January was greater…
    Juega cada punto como si fuera el último. They say at the tournaments that this is what Toni Nadal still hammers at his nephew: Play every point as though it were the last— of the game, of the match, of the day, of your life. “It’s out of respect for the sport,” Toni told me when I asked him about it. “If you’re going to do a thing, do it absolutely the best you can."
  • we realised that one name cropped up the most – IIPM. We decided to investigate. We sent mails to all those, that IIPM draws upon to validate its claims in its advertisements, namely – journalists, editors, foreign universities, employers. We spoke to current and former students and their parents. What our investigation unravelled left us cold. Here is an institution that enjoys all the privileges of an academic institution (according to IT authorities, it claimed exemptions citing Section 10(23C) (VI) of the Income Tax act, 1961) with zero responsibility and accountability. Here is an institution that brazenly uses its power and reach to make unsubstantiated claims that play with the lives of students and parents alike. We know we are opening a Pandora's Box, but are prepared for the repercussions, knowing fully well that you, our readers are with us. We were shocked by our findings, and what you are reading is just a part of it. We await your verdict.
  • In the morning, I have certain aspirations. One of my goals is to avoid looking at the computer or checking e-mail for at least an hour after I wake up. I also try to avoid alarm clocks as much as possible, because it's just nice to wake up without one. I leave my shades up a bit, so I usually wake up about an hour after the sun rises. I usually don't eat breakfast, and I avoid caffeine. I've got enough stimulating things in my life already. I also avoid morning meetings: The earliest meeting I'll do is 11 a.m.
    I like to read first thing in the morning. I'm addicted to the Kindle. I read a lot of business books, because I feel like I should figure out how to be a real businessman before someone figures out that I'm not one. I really enjoy reading classics as well, which I try to work in once every two months. Reading is my break. Otherwise, I go to sleep and wake up thinking about WordPress.
  • TIGER WOODS WAS RAISED TO BELIEVE THAT HIS DESTINY IS NOT ONLY TO BE THE GREATEST GOLFER EVER BUT ALSO TO CHANGE THE WORLD. WILL THE PRESSURES OF CELEBRITY GRIND HIM DOWN FIRST?
  • For a long time, the sole advocate of children's books in India was the government-run Children's Book Trust…and a popular comic series on ancient tales called the "Amar Chitra Katha." But they could not keep pace with the brightly illustrated foreign books that flooded the Indian market with their contemporary stories, often accompanied by merchandise…
    "There are good Indian writers, and their numbers are growing. But how do they compete with the kind of aggressive promotion that foreign authors get? The Indian books just sit on the shelves in the hope that they will get picked up and somehow sell magically," said Basu…
    But last year, India's first children's literature festival, called "Bookaroo," attempted to bring about three dozen Indian authors face to face with children…
    for too long, publishers have churned out safe titles from India's time-honored repository of traditional fables, myths and Panchatantra, a collection of animal tales that impart life lessons and morals.
  • Why is Graham, an avowed start-up hater, doing this? Because for all the pain, he believes that founding a company is the most efficient way to create wealth — for investors, for founders, for society at large — and because he thinks he can make starting a company a lot less painful. "There's this classic pattern that has happened over and over again throughout history in which something is made one at a time, very expensively and unreliably by hand, and then someone comes along and figures out how to make large numbers of them cheaply and reliably," Graham says. "We're pulling this kind of transformation with venture funding. We're mass-producing the start-up."

Leave a comment